Basic Setup Stuff

I have been using rclone for a few months, primarily for Plex serving to myself from GDrive. I set it up according to the Reddit thread so many have used:

In looking through the rclone docs I see no mention of NSSM or even how to run it. I looked here:

https://rclone.org/install/

Then this cryptic list of switches that looks like I could spend a lifetime trying to understand:

https://rclone.org/docs/

Then this one:

Which seems like an easy way to install it and get it in my path, but doesn't seem comprehensive with regard to simply getting a drive letter and using it like a local drive.

I guess I'm trying to find out first of all, how are people typically using rclone. Is it running as a service or are people just running command lines to make things happen as needed? If it is a service does it run as a service on its own or is NSSM required?

Also, is there a repository of "good working" command lines? I have found several in here like this one:

https://forum.rclone.org/t/my-recommended-google-drive-and-plex-mount-settings/6132/843

But there are literally hundreds of comments, links to github and more stuff over my head.

In my playing, I find that trying to use my rclone generated drive to drag and drop stuff usually works, but it usually COMPLETELY sucks up my bandwidth and/or system resources while copying/moving files. I have Google Drive Filestream installed and that seems to work MUCH better, but I have seen threads where people are bouncing off their API cap and things like that so I only use it for copying small groups of files. When I use the rclone service (different drive letter to same GDrive location) it effectively makes me system unusable until the operation completes.

I could go on, but I have a feeling from browsing these threads that someone will have an idea what I have going on simply from the description.

I appreciate the help!

1 Like
  1. what version of rclone are you using?