Anyone have an idiots guide to writing a script to mount drives on boot?

I’m new to Linux (only installed it to use rclone), and finding myself a little lost with the scripting.

In windows I would make a batch file and drop it in startup.

Any basics?

Make new service file:
sudo nano /etc/systemd/system/rclone-mount.service

[Unit]
Description=rclone Amazon Cloud Drive FUSE mount
Documentation=http://rclone.org/docs/
After=network-online.target

[Service]
Type=forking
User=plex
Group=plex
ExecStart= rclone mount --allow-non-empty --allow-other --max-read-ahead 200M --checkers 16 acd:/ /storage/.acd/ &
ExecStop= fusermount -uz /storage/.acd

[Install]
Wants=network-online.target

Proceed with
sudo systemctl daemon-reload
sudo systemctl enable rclone-mount.service
systemctl start rclone-mount.service

Enable network-online.target ( so rclone does not do mount before internet is present on boot )
systemctl enable NetworkManager-wait-online.service

And thats it, now when you reboot your drive will be automatically mounted.
You can check if rclone mounted the drive with
findmnt | grep rclone

p.s. Dont forget to change your names for remote and paths for mount.

Hello @filthyrich,

If you are lucky (or savvy, despite being a beginner) enough to be running a distro free of the systemd abomination, you can just edit /etc/rc.local and put your commands in there – they will be run automatically at every boot.

@Ajki: is the above crapload of commands really necessary to do this very simple thing with systemd? I have avoided this latest Poettering abomination so far on philosophical grounds, seems it is good policy to avoid it in practical grounds too…

Cheers,

Durval.

I’m on Ubuntu 16.04. I think it has system…

@Ajki thanks!!!

If I have 2 drives to mount (movies are separate from tv), would I put 2 entries in the one script, or use two scripts?

Thanks again!

I’ll provide an alternate method that I use and seems to work well. Easy and works for any number of mounts.