Unionfs and rclone mount ?'s

Ok, I’ve never used unionfs before (never had a reason). I’m soundboarding here, explaining how I think this would work, and asking if I’m correct for those that know! Remember I’m a total unionfs noob…

So I have a folder here with TV shows:
/mnt/media/Series
And I have my encrypted amazon drive mounted here:
/mnt/acd/
the mount points to an amazon drive location of the shows here:
amazon: /crypt/Series

So when I ls in /mnt/acd I see:
/Series
/Movies

And so my full path to see my encrypted series is /mnt/acd/Series.

Now, what I want to do is union these two:
/mnt/media/Series
/mnt/acd/Series

First question: do I need a 3rd location to union to (my googling was vague)? Like /mnt/union/series? Or can I just say use /mnt/media/Series? I think I don’t need the 3rd location. I do understand when a file exist in both locations, you can tell it to use one or the other to run from. Like in this case I’d want it to use the local copy if it exist first.

Second question: I’m guessing once I do get this setup and working, I make sure I copy all my local content over to amazon, and delete my local content? and from then on when I want to move stuff to the cloud I just do a “rlcone move” … right?

Third question: Does this get around the file opened read/write at same time issue even if the file is in the cloud? Or does this just get around it till it get’s moved?

Help with correct mounting syntax would be helpful too. I’ve seen some on here but since I don’t know their original structure I’m not 100% on it.

Yes unionfs need the 3rd location eg where you will see merged folders
I would suggest you mount only root folders and not Series directly so you can drop inside folder Movies etc…
Example:

unionfs-fuse
-o cow,allow_other,auto_cache
/mnt/media/=RW:/mnt/acd/=RO
/mnt/unionfs

or in same line
unionfs-fuse -o cow,allow_other,auto_cache /mnt/media/=RW:/mnt/acd/=RO /mnt/unionfs