Some crypt remotes have leading ./, sync causes re-uploads

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I have been backing up files with rclone for a couple of years. In the spring 2022 I switched to using Amazon AWS S3 Deep Glacier to save costs. This worked until now when I noticed that rclone tried to re-upload files I knew for a fact were already backed up. I don't know what caused this change or when.

I am using crypt to encode the contents and filenames. When I run either rclone ls or rclone sync I can see that for the files rclone is trying to re-upload the remote file has a leading ./ and local file does not. An example from rclone sync --dry-run output is below. So it seems that rclone treats these as different files due to difference in path and tries to upload the file without ./ and tries to delete the file with ./.

2022-08-13 10:47:10 NOTICE: Some Directory/Example File.flac: Skipped copy as --dry-run is set (size 36.620Mi)
2022-08-13 10:47:16 NOTICE: ./Some Directory/Example File.flac: Skipped delete as --dry-run is set (size 36.620Mi)

I have multiple remotes configured. All of them use S3 and crypt but different buckets. For simplicity's sake I only included two example remotes: s3_crypt_a which has the re-upload problem and s3_crypt_b which works fine. I noticed that the affected remote (s3_crypt_a) has configuration as shown below whereas the working remote (s3_crypt_b) does not have these explicitly stated.

filename_encryption = standard
directory_name_encryption = true

However according to documentation of Crypt (rclone.org) these should be the default values so I don't know if that actually matters.

I can delete the previous files and re-upload them without ./ but as Deep Glacier has early deletion fee and re-uploading also costs money so I'd really like to understand what happened and how I could avoid it in the future.

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

rclone v1.58.0