Restrict bandwidth only at certain times

Hi,

New user to rclone - and am finding it great so far - syncing data to Amazon Cloud Drive.

My ISP has upload restrictions in place weekday evenings (time range A), and weekends (time range B).
I have found the bandwidth restrict flag (and converted kbyte to kbit ok), but its all or nothing. Is there any way to invoke it during certain times (range A and B above)?

Alternately I will shell script it - but any tips on how to cleanly stop the rclone just before the restricted time, so I can start a new rclone with the restriction flag active? (Im not an advanced coder it would be a basic shell script on OSX).

Many thanks (and for the great product)

Hello NewRCloner,

Welcome to the club :wink:

One user has recently developed and submitted a patch to rclone so, once you start it with some bandwidth limit, you can turn it on and off at will. For more (and technical) details, see here: https://github.com/ncw/rclone/pull/810

To sum it up, just start your sync/copy/etc with rclone and --bwlimit as you normally would, then send it a SIGUSR2 signal (killall -USR2 rclone) to disable it, then send it again to reenable and so on (it’s a toggle).

I don’t think it’s at the current non-beta build (v.1.33 at this time) but it should be at the more recent betas; here’s a direct link for 64-bit OS/X: http://beta.rclone.org/v1.33-93-g11301a6/rclone-v1.33-93-g11301a6β-osx-amd64.zip

Good luck,

Durval.

Thanks Durval. That’s already a bit beyond my comprehension but I’m sure with a bit of reading and your links I’ll work it out! Meanwhile I just manually quit in the eve and restart in the morning at full bandwidth.

I assume ctrl-c in the shell is safe enough way to stop it running (just a bit messy as may leave partial files)?

Hello newrcloner,

Basically:

1. Install an rclone version supporting the feature; the one I linked should be OK.