Plex Cloud - what's your experience like so far?

Is anyone using it?

I’m trying it out with unencrypted files. Using Rclone (upload) + Gdrive (storage). 7TB of files.

My experience so far is that it’s faster on initial playback and for seeking, compared to crypt+acd. Downloading from gdrive is faster than ACD. The gdrive is one of those $5 specials on ebay, so I’m assuming it’ll get deleted in a couple of months but I want to see if google will ban my account before then.

If you’re using Plex Cloud, what’s your experience been thus far?

Pretty much matches yours. I’m using it with Rclone (upload) + Gdrive. Under 3TB library.

Everything is faster than my Linode + Rclone + ACD setup; under 5 seconds to start playing, I can skip ahead, restart a stopped movie from the middle (something I’ve never had working with ACD), etc.

I’ve been using Plex Cloud and Google Drive for more than 2-3 months now, I was one of the first users get the invite, so far it’s very good and it’s fast.

At the beginning it had lots of bugs but now it’s very stable, I know sometimes it take time to start the server or sometimes it take forever to get the media content after library scan, but it will do the job.

I have more than 65Tb right now on Google and so far everything is smooth and I never get any ban so far, thank god :slight_smile:

P.S. I even had 6 streaming with it, but right now I read in FAQ that you can only have 3 transcode stream on it, so you have to consider that too when you using it.

65 tb unencrypted on Google Drive? Wow…

Crikey. I just ditched GDrive because over 1TB was prohibitively expensive - it was like £100/month or something absurd. How much does 65TB cost?!?! Surely renting a VPS server or even buying a NAS would be cheaper?

Check for G suite: https://gsuite.google.com/intl/en_ie/pricing.html

ciao

luigi

About the security:

ciao

luigi