KMS for S3 file creation

This might be a weird question, but how do I use KMS with rclone? I moved up to preprod and didn’t know our instance uses KMS alongside IAM roles, couldn’t see a way to use it with rclone.

Found some more info, apologies, I’m new to AWS.
This is what’s stoppin’ me from writing to the s3

https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/dev/UsingKMSEncryption.html

{
“Version”:“2012-10-17”,
“Id”:“PutObjPolicy”,
“Statement”:[{
“Sid”:“DenyUnEncryptedObjectUploads”,
“Effect”:“Deny”,
“Principal”:"",
“Action”:“s3:PutObject”,
“Resource”:"arn:aws:s3:::YourBucket/
",
“Condition”:{
“StringNotEquals”:{
“s3:x-amz-server-side-encryption”:“aws:kms”
}
}
}
]
}

Last bump. It looks like I need the rclone version of --server-side-encryption aws:kms and --ssekms-key-id

There is an open issue about KMS and rclone here: https://github.com/ncw/rclone/issues/1824 which will cause you a problem eventually…

rclone doesn’t support this at the moment - if you’d like it to then please make a new issue on github with lots of info.

I don’t really understand what needs to be done so links into the sdk would be super helpful!

AWS recently provided a way to set the default encryption behavior for an S3 bucket. I have not tried to re-create your issue to test this idea, but I think setting the default encryption behavior may provide a work around for not yet being able to see the required S3 KMS flags in rclone yet.
https://docs.aws.amazon.com/AmazonS3/latest/dev/bucket-encryption.html

I’m not 100% sure, but a quick look at the SDK looks like the s3crypto service may contain what’s needed to implement this: https://docs.aws.amazon.com/sdk-for-go/api/service/s3/s3crypto/

I’m new on the forum so I couldn’t get all the links I wanted to reference in a single post. I also wanted to mention good general AWS documentation about S3 and KMS encryption is available at: