Cache (new remote) or vfs-cache for rclone mount

Sorry if this has been explained before, I did a search but nothing was clear to me. I have been using rclone for a few years but was unaware of “vfs-cache” until now and am wondering if it is a replacement for the Cache remote (option 7 currently) in the newer versions of rclone?

I am using “rclone mount” for my cloud drive and would like to use a cache. I created the Cache Remote but when troubleshooting refresh times for new files I came across the --vfs-cache-poll-interval which seems to be for the mount command and not related to the Cache remote so now I am very confused.
Can someone tell me which I should be using now for caching a remote? Also how to get that cache to check every hour for new files in the cloud drive the remote is pointing at?

Thanks

The only options related to the cache backend are listed here:

https://rclone.org/cache/

The cache backend does chunked reading of a remote and keeps a copy of those chunks locally.

Standard VFS has some options related to file caching and is much different as it has its own set of options:

https://rclone.org/commands/rclone_mount/#file-caching

Regardless of what you use, the backend might support polling like Google Drive for example and it uses a default 1 minute polling cycle to check for changes. Any changes are seen on the mount via that polling interval.

Make sure you have the latest version installed and if you have any questions, just share your mount command and the issue with -vv (debug output) on the problem and we can help out.