Am loving rclone so far!
I’ve found the need to occasionally delete a large number of files in a b2 bucket via
What I’ve noticed is that rclone will simply mark these files as hidden instead of deleting them. I need to then separately run
rclone cleanup to purge these hidden files in order to reduce the bucket size. That operation seems to cost a lot of Class C transactions: I empirically observed over 100 transactions when deleting ~7,000 files.
The now closed GitHub issue #462 talked about ensuring versions are not kept when overwriting files during sync but the
cleanup command was implemented in its favor.
I see a benefit to an opt-in for automatically deleting files during
- We can minimize bucket disk space (and cost) if there are large additions to the bucket during
syncbecause we don’t have to wait until the sync completes to recover the space with a
- By leveraging
--fast-listduring the same
syncthese deletions wouldn’t cost anything (i.e. no additional Class C transactions) as
b2_delete_file_version(Class A) is free.
- We don’t have to separately run a
If this makes sense I’m happy to create a new GitHub issue.