Rclone as destination for Borgbackup

I'd like to use borg to do differential backups to google drive.
Borg backs up (and de-dupes) in chunks.

I imagine this will play havoc with rclone's method of caching? Or maybe not?

Has anyone done this (or something like it) and can provide some advice?

I have zero experience with borg, but I can generally say that as long as it works on the file-level then it should work. It's pretty hard to break rclone's caching because it is a very simple system that doesn't presume much. It just has files locally or not.

But any backup programs that work on block-level (under the file level) can not work by definition - because we don't have block-level access to the cloud harddrives, and thus nether does rclone.

I can't say what type borg is, but it is makes files as output rather than modify existing files (directly, rather than just overwriting the whole file) then it's probably working on the file-level.

Well, that's the thing... it groups and chunks.

at long as it chunks to files that fine :smiley:
But again, i've never used borg, so someone else will have to chime in on the finer details here...

Borg does work with rclone mount however not perfectly: see https://github.com/rclone/rclone/issues/3641

I haven't managed to replicate the problem there yet.

You can do a borgbackup to local disk then use rclone copy to sync it to google.

You could also use (for example) restic which can use rclone as a backend to backup to drive.

It's not terribly hard to set up a script that just transfers the data once borg has finished working with it locally though - if that turns out to be needed.

@ncw I think what we really need to solve a whole lot of these problems is a delayed upload timer flag for the VFS cache. I would also add a modtime test to that so recently modded files are delayed.